Skip to content

Wal-Mart

28 July 2007

Saturday, July 28
1:00 a.m.

NO I didn’t work out at 1:00 a.m., but I am reflecting now and very much still awake.

I feel like God and the universe fully endorsed my “workout/write it out” plan today. In Wal-Mart sporting goods department helping Jen, Matt, and Aaron shop for their Africa trip when I spot a copy of Runners World, and the headline that says “1/2 Marathon Special”. I almost can’t believe the good fortune, and impulse-buy it then and there (along with a tub of Edy’s Slow Churned American Idol “Take The Cake” ice cream. That impulse-buy was toward the end of the Wal-Mart trip; I was tired, plus my ex-boyfriend didn’t let me buy some once. That’s right, ladies, TOLD ME NOT TO BUY ICE CREAM. So…totally justified. And it’s ½ the fat.) SO. Now I have my first reading assignment of this journey, and with it no doubt some running assignments.

Wow. Ice cream upsets you that much, really? So that’s it. God says YES, YOU SHOULD RUN and NOOOOOO YOU SHOULD NOT BE IN A SERIOUS RELATIONSHIP, OR FOR THAT MATTER, ANYWHERE NEAR ONE.
What am I to do with myself? I’m not sure; besides kick myself into shape with pure discipline and a little lactic acid fermentation (still not quite sure what that means exactly). Sounds like a plan.

Leave a Reply

