Skip to content

doe-eyed optimism

11 November 2007

Sunday November 11
Veterans Day
Ran 20/Walk 20…but it was a fast walk
Went over to Kevin’s to have him wrap my foot beforehand. This blister is a bitch.

Today’s run, while not particularly stellar, was redeemed by the stellar weather. It’s freakin’ 70 degrees on Veterans Day. Beautiful! Just being outside on a day like this, sloshing my feet through the crunchy leaves (can you “slosh” through something crunchy? I don’t think so. But I want to), running past downtown Springfield landmarks makes me just fall in love with life and Springfield, and believe in surprises and possibility.

I know I always adopt this doe-eyed sentimentality after a run on a pretty Sunday, and I’ll acknowledge that it’s probably just runner’s high talking, but I won’t apologize for being happy. I’m learning to not do that.

(Ew. That sounds emo and self-conscious, and blogiotypical doesn’t it? But oh well. No more perfectionism. No more constant self-editing.)

In just three weeks I’m going to run a half-marathon in the birthplace of rock and roll…if that’s not something to feel a litte doe-eyed about, I don’t know what is.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

