Skip to content

What a difference a [nice] day makes

12 March 2008
tags:

Flipped back through my purse composition book tonight, and found an entry I’d forgotten about from a couple weeks ago. Managed to have a brief Moment of Zen at Jimmy John’s (yeah, I know). Among all the cheeky tin posters that say things like “your mom wants a sandwich” there was one that actually made me stop and think:

If you do the things you need to do when you need to do them, then someday you can do the things you want to do when you want to do them.

Now if that ain’t my mantra. I scribbled this afterwards: “lesson of early 20s (and, oh god, MID-20s): paying dues, patience with less glamorous portions of adult life, storing away acorns hoping someday it will be spring.”

Lately I feel like I’ve been storing a lot of acorns. I know I’ve also had a lot of unbelievably fun times this year, too.
(Is it possible to be both the ant and the grasshopper?)

At any rate, I think that someday might be on its way, because today felt like SPRING.

Ran some errands across campus, and felt like I was living a commercial for Drury, stopping to say hi to everyone I knew, always saying something like “isn’t it a beautiful day!” Everywhere you look: flip-flops. Outside my building, barefoot boys practicing their rock climbing on ropes between trees. I don’t know what this process is called exactly, though I know carabineers and flailing are involved.

Tonight stopped at Starbucks after a visit with a friend (who is also a reader…first blog shout out!), to discover a new collection of spring-themed mugs and a brand-new frappuccino flavor: honey. Walking back to my car I’m still comfortable in short sleeves. All these new spring developments make me feel hopeful.

And next week I’m off for Spring Break in sunny…Minneapolis.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather permalink
    13 March 2008 12:53 pm

    I hear that shout!

  2. c-love permalink
    24 March 2008 8:18 pm

    aww…i hadn’t visited your blog in a while, but i am so glad i did! i think there might have been a tear in the ol’ eye when i read about springtime at DU. oh and i remember watching slacklining boys. hard to forget. sigh.

    i miss you and i hope to see you really soon (maybe this weekend?!) give me a ring if you get a chance!

Leave a Reply

