Skip to content

BLOGIVING

28 April 2008

This is another title I’ve been sitting on for a couple of days.  Too cute?

This is National Volunteer Week, and to celebrate I thought I’d start something I’ve been thinking about for a while.  Use the blog to share inspirational stories I’ve heard, or link to nonprofits that you dear reader can support, or talk about helping people in big and small ways.  The big and small ways that people help me all the time.  Hopefully I’ll have BLOGIVING posts once a week, but this week I’m going to TRY one every day…because I know if I’m too busy to think about helping other people, I’m too busy.  (Call Oprah. I just had a moment.)

Today I’m going to start with an easy one.  The blog’s about running right? (or at least it used to be…) Well it sure is lucky that running and doing-good are easy to combine.

In 2 weeks (oh god, just 2 weeks…) I’m running in THE KITCHEN RUN, a 5K supporting–you guessed it!–The Kitchen, and all the amazing work they do for our homeless neighbors in Springfield.

This is super-exciting for a few reasons.

  • 1) I get super-excited about most things.
  • 2) This is the first race that I’m doing specifically for the cause.  Sure my half-marathon helped St. Jude, and I was glad to do it, but that race was more about ME.
  • 3) The race is still about me. I’m going to try to place in my age bracket. HAHAHAHA. No seriously.
So, dear reader, if you are a Sprinting Springfieldian as well (oh you better believe I just said that!), you should also run.  Just don’t run faster than I do.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. whit permalink
    29 April 2008 9:18 am

    You said “homeless neighbors.” :)

  2. elliott permalink
    29 April 2008 11:15 am

    the last line when you said “dear reader” made me think of something that you would like, if you don’t already like it… have you ever heard brad needly’s adaptation of the harry potter movie? its called wizard people, dear reader. you can download the audio file just by searching for the title or better yet, got to youtube and watch the movie with his reading dubbed over it… you really have to see it while it is being read the first time…. it is life changing.

    let me know what you think,
    el

Leave a Reply

