Skip to content

Fireworks! Marching Bands! Blog Entry #100!

27 July 2008

That’s right, folks. After a long blog vacation I am back online, and just in time for the 100th entry of working it out.

If this blog were a TV series, this entry would be packed with surprise guest stars and a shocking plot twist or two. Perhaps a new love interest.
If this blog were a car dealership, this entry would be filled with bright graphics and streamers and low-low prices. Nobody beats our deals.
If this blog were a small town, this entry would be a parade and ribbon cutting for the new statue on the square. Maybe Miss Working It Out appears and poses for photos.

But as it is not any of those things, I’m not sure exactly how to celebrate.

Today also happens to be the one year anniversary of the first day I blogged. (Hm. I still have trouble with “blog” as a verb…) One year ago I ran my old familiar sidewalk course around Drury, and had the bright idea that maybe, just maybe, I could run this big half-marathon, and maybe I could write about it and learn a thing or two along the way.

And here we are, 365 days later. 100 mini-essays later. Countless leg-cramps and iPod shuffles later…
joined The Skinny
jumped out of a plane
got a pet
made a movie
went to Europe
made friends
lost love
and somewhere in there I did run that half-marathon

Not a bad way to spend a year.

And it’s almost too poignant, too cue-the-sappy-music, almost too bloggy (is it an adjective now too?), that this is also the last night I will spend in my apartment at Drury. The last night I will be here and have it be HOME.

This morning I went for one last run, even though I’m more than exhausted from spending all day Saturday moving furniture into my apartment. on the second floor. in the heat. I had to take just one more spin around these sidewalks that are so familiar to me.
(At this moment in my life a lot of things are uncertain. I have a lot of new territory ahead of me in the next few months. And I’ll have to get to know new sidewalks.)

Just a few days ago I picked up Anne Morrow Lindbergh’s A GIFT FROM THE SEA, as I have every summer since I first read it in 2005. I’m amazed that each time I find myself underlining different passages, noticing sections that I’d overlooked before. This morning I had to giggle and cry (a reaction I have more often than I’d like to admit, old schmaltz that I am) when I noticed, for the first time, these words:

“Who is not afraid of pure space—that breath-taking empty space of an open door? But despite fear, one goes through to the room beyond.”

So that’s what I’m about to do. For the first time since 1989 (good lord! 1989!), my life won’t be measured in semesters. For the first time since 2002 my home won’t be a residence hall.

The room beyond is full of possibility, scary and uncertain and breath-taking.

One Comment leave one →
  1. HKB permalink
    30 July 2008 1:14 pm

    Oh, Sarah, reading things you write still gives me chills. I admire you SO much! Just this morning, I thought, I need to start a blog, like Sarah, so, can I be a last-minute guest star– and then hopefully soon begin my own pilot that will be almost but never quite as successful as the witty, charming, chilling, original series? I even thought of a very metaphorical, enchanting name, but now I can’t remember it. Perhaps “The Pilot” ??

Leave a Reply

