Skip to content

100 days

28 August 2008

Thanks to countdown widget, I know I have 100 days (and a little less than 15 minutes) until Big Race #2. It’s a milestone kind of day, right? 100 days seems like forever and not all that much at the same time.

This seems like a good time to announce my big goal—and it’s not the full marathon after all. I decided this is not the year to try adding weekly 10+-mile runs to my life, with international travel and a new demanding job already on my plate. But I can still push myself, and it’ll come in the form of improving my time.

Last year I ran 13.1 miles in 2:18.?? (I can’t recall the exact seconds. Shame on me.), which for me (nonathletic, couldn’t-run-a-mile-in July me) was a big deal. I achieved my then-goal of finishing without walking.

I admit I was swept away in the ceremony and spectacle of the closing of the Olympics. (that people-as-eternal-flame bit? seriously, get out of town.) Was especially won over by the marathon medal presentation. The winner, from Kenya, ran the marathon in 2:06.

SO. I think maybe I can try to run the half in as much time.

Maybe.

I know it means shaving almost a minute off of each mile, which is HUGE, but I also know I have enough running books and websites at my disposal that all explain how to get better and increase speed and do things like this.
It’ll just take some work. And changing my routine. I’m up for it.

100 days.

And then that just gets me wondering what ELSE I could do with that amount of time.
Seriously start learning Spanish again?
How many books could I read in that amount of time?
With so much on my wish list there’s not a lot of time to waste.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    28 August 2008 11:57 am

    Plus you will have a new cheerleader at the race this year! That’s gotta count for SOMETHING…

  2. HKB permalink
    29 August 2008 8:15 am

    Sarah, how do you get the countdown widget? It is super cool, but I can’t figure it out. Is it something that you can post on your blog for others to see, or is it just a little piece of google greatness that you can only see yourself?

Leave a Reply

