Skip to content

Life is Good

5 September 2008

This might be my last pre-Vietnam post.  But don’t fret!  I will be post-pre-Vietnam posting (ha. haha.) the whole time I’m gone at conveystudios.blogspot.com.

I’ve been so busy lately, the good kind of busy where my head spins and I write lots and lots of random notes to myself.  In just the last 2 days I’ve had so many cool little moments, I needed to write them all down.  As I did, I realized it’s really cool how they each seem to fit something I value in life. Observe:

 

CONNECTION:  I’m auditing a class this semester, which meets in a computer lab, and so far I have sat next to a German exchange student. He speaks English really well, and seems to keep up just fine, but every once in a while I’ll catch him discreetly looking up a word on a translation site.  Yesterday I noticed he looked up “empathize”, and so I did.

RANDOM ACTS OF KINDNESS: I’m always touched when fast food employees are extra kind, especially when I’m super stressed. Yesterday the Taco Bell folks went above and beyond.  The lady who took my order offered me a combo, and saved me some money, when she wouldn’t have had to.  A manager behind the counter added extra goodness to my border bowl before he let it pass inspection, and made sure I had a spork.

GRACE:  I was running late for class [these things happen when you have a nonprofit workshop until noon and that’s when your class starts. busybusybusy.],  and it was also raining, as it had been for a full 24 hours. I zipped into a parking lot I was sure would be full, saying a little prayer that I’d find a spot.  As I turned a corner, a car was pulling out of one of the closest spots possible. 

COINCIDENCE: Sitting in the office late Thursday afternoon, and the mailman stops by. I haven’t actually seen him before. I overhear him ask someone else “what’s this Swan Rep Theatre thing?” And so I launch into a schpeel: new downtown, professional actors—“oh, you’re Equity?!”—he interrupts me. [Say what? I still barely know what that really means…] Turns out our mailman was a theatre major. What are the odds?

IRONY: Was stuck at a stoplight behind a truck with the following:
9 (count ’em 9) confederate flag bumper stickers
“Predator” truck cover decal
“Friendly” Ford decal
one of these things is not like the others.

REDEMPTION: A great injustice of modern life is when a web-browser shuts down, and kills multiple pages I’ve been working on. Safari has redeemed itself with the newly-discovered “reopen all windows from last session” feature.  Finally I’m no longer tempting fate by leaving multiple tabs open forever and ever, for I can reclaim them if I need to.

So there you have it. Further evidence that life is good, especially when you pay close attention.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. kris permalink
    7 September 2008 3:02 pm

    Too bad the southern gentlemen didn’t have an icthus on his truck. That’s my kind of irony.

  2. Amanda permalink
    8 September 2008 3:41 pm

    Just so you know, it’s spelled “spiel.”

    Sorry. I just can’t help it sometimes.

Leave a Reply

