Skip to content

wow.

16 September 2008

Yes, I am still in Vietnam right now.  And full of all sorts of inspiration about all sorts of things, but this post isn’t really about that.

I had a few spare minutes this afternoon, so I used them to catch up on classwork, work-work, and some random internet catching-up.  (So strange to go days without much media.  To remember how much I can live without facebook.  To realize I haven’t really thought about the election.)

I went to McSweeney’s site out of the blue, because we’d talked about it on a recent van ride, and saw something about mourning David Foster Wallace.

Say what?!  So I googled, and found out what happened last week.  And found an article (on a sports blog, of all things!) that gives me chills for multiple reasons.

Here’s how the article ends:

Such artists leave me in awe of what humans can do. When the world seems too random, brutal or dull, I turn to them and find hope.

I woke this morning feeling that this existence seemed a little dimmer.

So here I am, on the other side of the world, about to eat dinner when everyone at home is eating breakfast, and having 8000 thoughts at once about art and life and giving and writing and purpose and people and love and god.

And here’s another genius/mental illness tragedy. And my brain gets itchy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

