Skip to content

Writing is a muscle, and you gotta work that sh*t out.

30 September 2008

I once heard it described that way, that writing is a muscle and you have to constantly keep it in shape.  You have to write every day if you call yourself a writer.  You have to constantly read and fill your brain with new words and phrases and ideas.  I think it might’ve been Walter Bargen speaking at MSA. But I’ve heard it elsewhere, too.

I know that I know this. I’ve read it in countless books and articles on how to be a better writer…I know from experience that if you wait around for divine inspiration to spark you can be waiting for weeks. Creativity can be instant and fun and magical, but it can also be shy and finicky and tugging on its leash.

Reminded again tonight.  Writing can be HARD.  But I just have to do it.

Just like running. If I don’t do it for a few days it’s going to be challenging.  I can tell a difference in my general well-being without it.  I haven’t been on a regular running schedule since I’ve been back, and I’ve felt sluggish and a little on edge. 

Same with writing.  Leave my brain alone for a few days and it gets lazy.  It trips over its feet for the first few paragraphs.  But eventually, it all comes back.  And man, it feels good.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 30 September 2008 11:21 pm

    i couldn’t agree with you more! ;-)
    by the way, i think you havea an awesome blog…. interesting insights and fun posts. glad i stumbled into it.
    just thought i’d leave a few lines to say hello and thank you for sharing them.

  2. verbivorehere permalink
    8 October 2008 11:27 pm

    so true. your writing lets the reader travel along..wit u..
    do let me know if i can blogroll you

Leave a Reply

