Skip to content

a way with words

8 October 2008

I’ve been thinking about this phrase lately.  Not sure why exactly, except writing and love are both heavily on my mind. and aren’t they always.

it never struck me before how romantic this notion is.

you’ve got a way with me.
i’ve got a way with words.

it speaks of wooing, of seduction, of romance.

Words and me…it’s complicated.
I’m in a long term relationship with words.
Mrs. Sarah Words. Sarah Jenkins-Words. Mrs. Sarah Alice Jenkins-Words.

I can’t remember the day we first met, or the first word i ever spoke.  

i can remember the first time we fell in love…I was in second grade. I’d always had a thing for books, but one particular day in second grade I really fell in love. I wrote a story, on that glorious pink-and-blue lined elementary school paper, called Stupid Cupid. I don’t remember much about it, except a sassy female protagonist falling for a leather-jacket-wearing cupid, who said “baby” a lot, and who, I believe, was from outer space. It was clever. It used big words [and oh how i loved the big words]  I remember I read it out loud and made kids laugh. I read it out loud and made my teacher laugh. She had the principal sit down and read it so he could laugh. That moment, in particular, is still vivid. [god…17 years later.] This was the first time i realized i might be good at this writing thing, and if i kept doing it well, people would laugh. important people might laugh.

and the love affair continued. i loved essay tests. kept lisa frank spiral notebook diaries. majored in english. and today things are still steamy. i clutter the margins of my books with notes, document my dreams, am obsessed with good puns, sometimes (true story) stick my nose in the pages of a brand-new book. just because i love new-book smell.

but like any long term relationship, like any relationship that really matters, it takes work. it takes sacrifice. it doesn’t always feel the way I think it should.
writing leaves me feeling self-conscious and hopeless, and then, sometimes when i least expect it, makes me feel like the smartest girl alive.

hopefully, someday, in the not-too-distant future, writing and i will finally commit.  and have well-written, original, insightful babies. and people will pay me for those babies.

and all will be right with the world.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. verbivorehere permalink
    8 October 2008 11:21 pm

    hey u sure seemed to have learnt the art of seducing Mr.words. i dont think he can resist anymore. And im already looking forward to have a glimpse of those lovely kids :)

  2. Amanda permalink
    9 October 2008 3:53 pm

    Word babies. I like it. :)

  3. 10 October 2008 8:12 pm

    oh your quite fun

  4. 10 October 2008 8:14 pm

    Sarah Jenkins Words. Nice.

Leave a Reply

