Skip to content

look what i made

14 October 2008

 I was driving home last night, and passed a church sign that said “LIVE TOMORROW TODAY”…and I am still trying to figure out exactly what they mean by that.  It seems like kind of the opposite of what you should do, right?  One of the best books I’ve read this year is THE POWER OF NOW.  Yeah, I know, say what you will about Oprah-spirituality, but this book makes a lot of sense.  Living your life too much in the future or the past is insanity.  Acknowledge and learn from the past, sure.  Plan for the future, certainly.  But the best thing you can do, I think, is LIVE TODAY TODAY.  That’s the only thing you can do, right?

So…how does this relate to photos of crafts, you might wonder.  I’m thinking a lot about modern life. Adult life…whatever that means.  Lists of obligations.  Balancing work, social life, dreams for the future…so much to do and so little time.

But there’s something about making something.  I find I have little time to be crafty these days, but I love it. The meditative rhythm of knitting.  The chaos and order of a well-composed collage.  The potpourri smell of the craft aisle at Walmart.  (I even love Martha Stewart. a lot. Don’t judge me.)

Sunday afternoon my mom and I spent a couple of hours sewing pumpkins.  At first I was a little rusty. Wasn’t sure where to start.  But once I got going, I couldn’t stop giggling.  It’s just so FUN to friggen sew BEADS onto FELT. (I am SUCH a loser!)

Not only is it fun to do, but it connects me to my heritage.  See, my great grandmothers left behind buttons in jars.  My grandma quilted.  My mom knits and cross-stitches.  And I…dabble in a lot of things.

Something hypnotic in the feeling of beads between my fingers. I’m reminded of hours I spent when i was really little.  Mom had this plastic box of glass beads by her sewing machine, and I would sit and sort them out by color over and over again.

I’m not saying I want to go back to the days on the prairie, where women darned socks and churned butter and pushed out babies, and died of cholera and other cliches…but in modern life where everything is prepackaged and focus-grouped and manufactured, there’s something beautiful in the simplicity of making something. 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. c-love permalink
    14 October 2008 9:23 pm

    sarah-
    i LOVE your pumpkins. ahh adorable! it looks like you’ve been having fun. :)
    miss you!
    c-love

Leave a Reply

