Skip to content

and now for something completely different

14 November 2008

I apologize for alienating anyone in my last post with my long loveletter to nerdiness. I meant it all, but I guess I should acknowledge that not everyone shares my ecstaticism (no, not a word) for The Wire.

SO! To win you back, a couple of random observations:

1) Have you seen the new 25 mph signs in town? The ones with short motivational phrases on them? “show respect”
“set the pace”
I wonder what’s next?
“call your mom”
“floss”
“he’s just not that into you”

2) Was at Hobby Lobby last night (oh how i love Hobby Lobby!) and discovered that photo frame manufacturers must think only white, heterosexual couples buy their products. Take a peek at the stock photos they use. Just a thought, HobLob, but maybe you should market to people like the rest of us who aren’t getting married in 1987.

The end.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 14 November 2008 3:42 pm

    Your second observation is part of the cruel marketing machine. Think about the majority of Hobby Lobby customers. They are typically women between the ages of 40-60 with disposable income. Most of them are going to be heterosexual. What do they want to see? Something that they can relate to and think: “Oh. I could put a picture of me and my husband in this frame and we would be just as cute as those young hot models.”

    As I type this I can’t help but realize that I am further nailing my own coffin at a chance to ever be cool.

    Curses.

  2. kris permalink
    14 November 2008 5:39 pm

    And consider this: http://www.hobbylobby.com/our_company/our_company.cfm?page=1. Really wish I knew how to post links in comments.

  3. kris permalink
    14 November 2008 5:39 pm

    Huh. Looky there. It does it for you.

  4. *mrt* permalink
    30 November 2008 10:05 pm

    You are freakin hilarious…. I haven’t had the opportunity to tell you that lately [smile]… hilarious…

Leave a Reply

