Skip to content

not a bad place to be

4 December 2008

So here we are. The day before the day before Big Race #2.
(Countdown widget tells me i have a mere 1 day and 8 hours…)
Monday was the one-year anniversary of Big Race #1.
Ran for an hour on Tuesday.
I carb loaded and drank lost of water today, just like last year.

This year is different.
You’d think it might be easier to approach a milestone this big knowing I accomplished it once already. If anything, i’m under more pressure knowing i did it once.
i have to finish this time.
I have to improve my time.
I have to be better than I was this time last year.

This year feels different.
Where last fall was one excitement after another:
started performing with skinny!
went skydiving!
got crazy-short new hair!
made a movie!
trained for my big race!

this fall has been…a little bit more of a challenge.

And so this year’s race will be a little challenging. But I’m starting to get excited. I’m whittling down my playlist, because this year [that’s right folks, she’s breakin’ the rules!] we’re running with our ipod, suckas!
and let me tell you, it’s fun to pretend the biggest decision I have to make is what songs to put on my Big Race playlist.
Right now I’ve got 4.5 hours. Twice what I’ll need.

Life’s a little more chaotic this year, and I feel a little bit less prepared, but I think I need the race this year even more than I did the first time.
I need 2 hours to just hang out with myself and work really hard at something almost impossible and finish it.
The finish line. The silver cape. The medal. The chocolate milk.
[nothing like chocolate milk after a big run!]

Even more important than the post-race beverage is the post-race LIFE.
I’m not naive enough to assume that one big goal accomplished is all it’s going to take to shake off the funk that has been fall 2008…
but I have other goals, and things are turning around. If you stick around, dear readers, you’ll hear all about it soon.

Way back in August I wanted to beat the Olympic marathon winner’s 2:06 time. That’s not a realistic goal anymore, but I know I’m still capable of overcoming my shortcomings to achieve something that’s still a pretty big damn deal for me.

not a bad place to be.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. habitgirl permalink
    5 December 2008 2:27 am

    I’m cheering from here. And have a pen at the ready for the next adventures. Go get ’em!

  2. Whit permalink
    6 December 2008 11:42 pm

    So, it’s already happened by now. How did it go?

  3. 8 December 2008 12:54 pm

    You go girl! you can do it!

Leave a Reply

