Skip to content

time flies.

1 January 2009

Four years ago today I was in India.  I had henna-stained hands and the Taj Mahal to look forward to.

(geez. good lord. holy crap. time flies.)

I look at pictures of me then…so skinny, hair so long.  I think about who I missed from home, what i’d done the semester before (became an RA in a co-ed dorm. got a new boyfriend. dropped chemistry class.  got mono.  maid of honor at my cousin’s wedding. amazing how boiled-down and simple it all seems in hindsight.)

I’m rereading my journal (surprisingly wise at 21. Clever and insightful. but also naive. and oh how conflicted.) and I found my list of Trip Goals. They make me smile, and are worth sharing:

1) WRITE EVERY DAY!
2) See one of the following: monkey, elephant, snake charmer.
3) DON’T COMPLAIN!
4) BE PATIENT.
5) Keep to a necessary minimum phrases like “I look like crap!” , “I feel gross!” , “I miss America.”
6) Learn things. Increase awareness of self, world. Think about importance.
7) NO DISEASES!
8) NORMAL DIGESTION!
9) Spend without guilt; find bargains.
10) Make 2005 a better year.

And so goal #10 is renewed again for 2009.  (well, the rest of them save #2 are pretty practical this year as well…)

cheers, dear readers!  and here’s to a year full of more surprises, world travel?, growth, goals, good blogginess.

One Comment leave one →
  1. D. Gilson permalink
    4 January 2009 12:56 am

    Here are two of my goals for 2009:

    1) read your blog and comment regularly (because you are good…and I feel quite on my way to achieving this goal, as I am now a proud RSS feed subscriber to the great Ms. Jenkins).

    2) start own personal blog and write. write. write. And, be inspired/challenged by you.

    Have a great weekend!
    d

Leave a Reply

