Skip to content

happy heart day

14 February 2009
tags: ,

This week I had to make an unplanned visit to Walmart to get a brake light replaced. To kill time, I wandered around the Valentine’s Day aisles.

 

Dangerous territory.

Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE holidays. And Hallmark. And LOVE. I love LOVE.
But for some reason, I can’t stand hot pink, stuffed gorillas or boxer shorts printed with conversation hearts. I could probably retell When Harry Met Sally word-for-word, but that kind of crap makes me gag.

So I was feeling a little jaded about all things Valentine’s Day when I walked down the card aisle, past at least ten dudes browsing for the perfect greeting. I wondered how many would make unfortunate choices of cards featuring hazy-filtered flowers with Maya Angelou poetry, or any cartoon animals imparting cheesy innuendo (horny toads, and the like). Almost dry-heaved again.

But then I noticed an old man surveying the selection of candy hearts. All by himself. And POOF my cynicism was gone. I wanted to hug him.

 

In the Sex & The City movie, (get ready, because this is the first and only time I will quote Jennifer Hudson in my blog), Louise from St. Louis grasps a gold “love” keychain, and tells Carrie Bradshaw, “this is my love, and I’m bringin’ it to me all day long.”

Love, and things I love, are everywhere. I just have to stop (and stop rolling my eyes) and notice them.

I LOVE that Andy’s has given free cones away to its facebook friends this week.
(love gives and doesn’t ask for something in return)

I LOVE Conan, but only get one more week of watching him the way I’ve always known him. I wonder, what will change as he moves to a new time? Will Triumph have to censor his insults? Can you say “if they mated” at 10:30? Is it okay for Raymond to give Preparation H to an audience in L.A.?
(love can handle change)

I LOVE my cat.
(love is honest, even when it’s embarrassing)

I LOVE all the people in my life who keep me around in spite of my worst, and encourage me to be my best.
(love can be as cheesy as a stuffed gorilla)
(and sometimes that’s okay)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. hkb permalink
    14 February 2009 11:13 pm

    You are correct, poolboy. Maya Angelou poetry is almost always unfortunate.

    Except that “I am woman” thing. Is that even her?

  2. Amanda permalink
    15 February 2009 2:43 pm

    I am going to challenge your unfortunate opinion of Maya Angelou poetry cards. Aaron gave me one for our anniversary last year and it was absolutely PERFECT. If the guy doesn’t have the ability to put in words what he’s feeling, so what if he goes out and finds a card with what he’s feeling already printed on it? At least he’s able to acknowledge, “Yes, THIS is exactly what I’m feeling so I’m going to get this card for my girl because I couldn’t have said it better.” So there.

  3. D. Gilson permalink
    17 February 2009 3:46 pm

    Ahhhhh, anybody buying anything even slightly associated with Maya Angelou should live a life completely devoid of love because they deserve it.

    Can we add looking back, no longer cynical but laughing, and loving that?

    We need to have a write night.

  4. 17 February 2009 11:59 pm

    LOVE is all around!

    Hey, I my blog has been nominated for a “blogaroni”– you should email llitle1@sbcglobal.net and ask to be included to vote :-)

Leave a Reply

