Skip to content

2003 called, it wants your obsession back

7 April 2009

American Idol.
I’m watching this season.

hes pointing at me. because he loves me. giggles.

he's pointing at me. because he loves me. giggles.

*sigh* I know, I should know better….but I just can’t help myself.

For one thing, it gives me something solid to talk about with my parents every week. And sometimes their commentary is hilarious. (Mom’s take on Megan’s departure last week: she looked like what Jerry Lewis used to do. and apologized for.  she was NUTS!)

And for another thing, it’s honestly really nice to have something completely frivolous and feel-goody and silly to get really, really ridiculously excited over.

Example: I was about to twitter about Matt Giraud and how much I luuuuuurv him. But then I realized, I don’t want to be the twenty-five year old woman who constantly twitter updates about pop culture icons she thinks are dreamy. I mean really.
But a blog seems like an okay place to do such things. Especially when often I’m oh-so-serious. It’s nice to take a break and feel like a sophomore in college again, dreaming of Clay Aiken whispering Paul Anka lyrics into my ear…ah, youth…

So let’s just say what’s true: I wouldn’t mind at all if Matt Giraud were my part time luva. (or full time, knowwhatimsayin‘!)  He’s just cute as a button singing the Stevie Wonder this week, and he’s also 23 so it’s not so creepy for me to doodle his name on my notebooks.  If I still had spiral notebooks, I would do just that.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 7 April 2009 10:39 pm

    You can keep ‘im. As long as I get Hugh Jackman.

  2. habitgirl permalink
    8 April 2009 12:45 am

    Shhh…you CANNOT tell anyone this. But, I sat in the back of a church service I led worship for tonight and repeatedly re-dialed the voting number for my fave Idols. Yes, IdolS.

Leave a Reply

