Skip to content

a very good weekend indeed.

3 May 2009

Oh how I love a weekend full of things that made me smile. Let’s recap!

Mystery Hour was Friday night. Got to do a ridiculous sketch with my new bff Leah (a loyal reader…shout out!) that involved body glitter and plastic bracelets. Good times. Am also just wicked lucky to have such talented, funny friends.

Artsfest improv shows. I love me some Artsfest. Even in the rain, it’s fun to be funny.

Celebrated friends’ birthdays (two in one weekend! zero party hats involved.) with some good goofiness and good gailey’s.

Finally applied to share my runner story on chicagomarathon.com. Cross your fingers. The blog may go (more) public, y’all!

Oh man, about two lines into this recap I started to feel real dorky. Like, it’s fun for me to journal about this stuff, but it feels a little trite to blog about it.
Aha! I know why! When I did the This American life internship application (which, by the way, ended up a “no”. Not really a surprise. still glad I tried.), a big thing for them was that a good story also has a “moment of reflection”…and to me, a big list of things-i-did-that-were-fun isn’t the most interesting thing for others to read, necessarily.

I do have a moment of reflection from it, though. It’s NICE to feel GOOD again. And connect with people I’ve missed for a while. And appreciate all I get to do, instead of noticing what’s missing.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    4 May 2009 8:44 am

    Thanks for spelling Artsfest with a lowercase “f”! I drives me crazy when people write it ArtsFest. Not correct.

  2. jeffhoughton permalink
    4 May 2009 9:49 am

    Thanks for spelling Mystery Hour with an uppercase “H”. It drives me crazy when people write it as Crappywasteoftime. Not correct.

  3. 4 May 2009 3:50 pm

    Thanks for calling me your bff, although i don’t know why you called me Leah, or said that we did a scene together, i don’t think we have been in a scene together for about a year.

  4. 5 May 2009 10:27 am

    Thanks for spelling my name Leah instead of some other way. It drives me crazy when people write it as John. Not. Correct.

    Okay. Joke has come in three. Now it is done.

Leave a Reply

