Skip to content

swing battabatta

18 May 2009

Tonight was yet another fabulous friend’s birthday party (calling the party fabulous, not necessarily the friend. he’s a great friend, but “fabulous” is more a word for sequined shoes. or cheesecake.), this one complete with outdoor sports and cupcakes.

The first item of business was wiffleball. Fabulous spring outdoor party fare, right? Yes, but in my experience also an anxiety-filled ticket to embarassville.
I think I’ve discussed before—at length—how athletic I’m not, in spite of the whole running-a-marathon thing. Sure, sure I played volleyball in junior high, but my signature move was hitting the ball over the net with my head. During a game.

So i tend to get a little intimidated when sports equipment is introduced, even in a laid-back backyard settings with friends. But you know what?  Eff that S!
So I suck at hitting a tiny plastic ball with a tiny plastic bat. You know what? i had fun anyway. And lots of it. (partly because our team name was “The Winners” and it was the Most Encouraging Game of Wiffleball Ever.)

Fabulous.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda permalink
    19 May 2009 10:14 am

    Wiffleball makes me so nervous too! I have yet to play it this year, but there have been many opportunities. One my friends likes to play “drink wiffleball” where you have to have a beverage in your hand at all time while playing. So I think I can handle that. :)

  2. 19 May 2009 12:18 pm

    You can’t forget the rousing game of “Grassy Balls” (is that what we decided to call it?). Athletics for the non-athletic at its finest.

Leave a Reply

