Skip to content

funny(est girl in town)

29 May 2009

In an episode of 30 Rock a few weeks ago, Liz Lemmon is crashing Jenna’s photoshoot for “Funniest Woman In New York.” Jenna, experienced in magazine shoots, refuses to do any “funny” shots or use any props. Liz, on the other hand, is dying for attention and sells herself out with rubber chickens, marx brothers glasses, and a toilet. She winds up on the cover lookin’ like a big ol’ hack.

this could happen to you.

this could happen to you.

Now I reference all this because I saw this episode one week before Go Magazine’s 20 Under 30 issue came out. I’ve been pretty sheepish about this whole thing, but if I can’t toot my own horn on my blog, I can’t do it anywhere.

So there’s that. i was in it. I’m awesome (?) whatever.

Point being, I’d had my photoshoot before the 30 Rock episode, and sure ’nuff had brought along (because we were asked to bring props) my marx brothers glasses and rubber chicken, along with a stack of books, whose comedic properties I hadn’t imagined.

tyra banks would be proud

tyra banks would be proud

  And here’s the result.  Funny, right?  I know I compare myself to Liz Lemmon way too easily (but srrriously, once an episode she IS me. Literally.), but this one was just too good.

Of course they pick the funny shot for the “funny” girl. I should’ve expected it.  And I suppose, as an improviser, i should be proud of the “natural reaction” that’s on display here.  (the books were falling off my head. I was agape.  all real.)  And yes yes it’s funny, and everyone says it’s cute, and my STAXX-wear is off the chain. (yes, off the chain. the jacket alone costs more than anything in my wardrobe ever.)

And I’m flattered. And still pretty flabbergasted about the whole thing.

When Jenna finally shows Liz her magazine cover (“they went with birthing the chicken on the toilet…”) she’s embarrassed, sure. But as Jenna walks away, she looks off into the distance, with that trademark Liz Lemmon optimism, and says, breathless, “I’m on the cover!”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 29 May 2009 1:41 pm

    you crack me up jenkins. haha. too good.

  2. habitgirl permalink
    29 May 2009 2:06 pm

    FINALLY some tooting up in here! I thought I was going to have to do it ALL myself.

  3. arthi permalink
    2 June 2009 8:57 pm

    i actually thought of that episode when veronica sent that article out–no luck trying to look like a lohan, but i think that’s a good thing :)

    (ps congrats on springfield finding out what we’ve known for years)

Leave a Reply

