Skip to content

113 Days: Litter Bugs Me

21 June 2009

Dear Springfield:

I took an early Sunday morning run today. It’s pretty outside in June before 8:00 a.m. The sun’s still low, the traffic is sparse, and I can pretend for a few minutes that it’s still springtime. Lovely.

But have you by chance walked along National lately? I know you’ve been driving along it. I can tell because you’ve left ample evidence behind. But have you walked and taken notice of the litter on the sidewalks?

It’s gross.

It bugs me for a couple of reasons. First, it shows a lack of pride in ourselves. You throw your junk on the ground, and soon enough our streets are covered in junk. (Did you ever read The Lorax, people?!) A gum wrapper here, a bottle there; enough people think it’s okay to throw trash out the window and soon enough we’re swimming in it.
Second, with all the talk of going green lately, you’d think we’d all start to understand that the earth isn’t just an indifferent backdrop for our lives, but we live on the earth, with the earth, and can choose to either help or harm each other by how we live our lives.
Third, it’s just ugly, folks. Don’t make my street ugly. Are you really so lazy that you can’t wait until you get home to recycle your Vitamin Water bottle?
or your Keystone tall can in a paper sack?
your $10 phone card?
your push-up pop?
your Thickburger wrapper?

Litter’s not cool, Springfield. It’s careless, irresponsible, lazy, harmful, ugly. These aren’t words I want describing my neighbors and my neighborhood. Take your trash home.

love,
me

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 21 June 2009 7:43 pm

    We hate litter here in W. Seattle and head out once a week to fill a bucket. It’s much easier than you’d think, 5-10 minutes in the more digusting neighborhoods.

    Happy Day :)

    http://inthebucket.wordpress.com/

  2. 21 June 2009 9:19 pm

    I pick up other peoples’ trash. Unless it is really really gross. then I just leave it be.

    I feel ya. Trash is trashy.

Leave a Reply

