Skip to content

Birth Week Day 2

30 June 2009

Another thing I like a whole lot: movies.
Lately I’ve especially loved seeing oldies/goodies on the big screen for the first time: It’s a Wonderful Life, Casablanca, Wayne’s World, Big Lebowski, Singin’ in the Rain.

And now Forrest Gump. Thanks to the Palace’s summer flashback series.

It’s really like seeing these movies for the first time. All of them came out before i was old enough to see them in theaters, so I’ve only known the experience of watching them at home.
I’ve harped on this before, but it’s worth saying again. There is just something about seeing film BIG. It’s magic.

More than once I remembered how the magic of CGI was so new when FG first came out. (July 6, 1994, p.s., *cough* fourteen years ago *coughcough*)
“Look! Leuitenant Dan has no legs!”
“Oh my god they made Kennedy look like he’s talking!”
And i thought about how kids these days (kids who weren’t alive fourteen years ago *groan*) have grown up with CGI and friggen E-Trade Babies talking on TV, and it’s not really magic anymore.
sigh…
Reminds me of how my dad used to tell stories of his first black-and-white TV. A time before TV was impossible to imagine when I was a kid. And now…I’m the grownup seeing generational shifts in technology and longing, somewhat, for the innocence of the good old days.

Dad turned 62 a couple of weeks ago. (The day before Father’s Day. The Gift Fairy didn’t smile upon us with that one.)
I talked to him on the phone that day—he and mom were on their way back from vacation—and I asked him if he felt older and wiser.
“Wiser…and younger!” he said. Zing!
And it gives me hope. Old age (and nostalgia, and “kids these days”) isn’t all that bad, right? It’s all about learning lessons and feeling young at heart.
62.
26.
whichever.

Now back to the Gump for a minute more.

Get it!

Get it!

It doesn’t get better than FG RUNNING, either as a cute little kid or beardy adult.

Now you wouldn’t believe me if I told you, but I could run like the wind blows. From that day on, if I was ever going somewhere, I was running!

with that i can hear his voice in my head. that Gumpian mix of intense innocence and sincerity.
(Tom Hanks is the man, isn’t he?)

 

 

Also thought a lot about his speech at the end.

Jenny, I don’t know if Momma was right or if, if it’s Lieutenant Dan. I don’t know if we each have a destiny, or if we’re all just floating around accidental-like on a breeze, but I, I think maybe it’s both. Maybe both is happening at the same time.

For the first time that really moved me. Again, I think viewing it as adult, who has seen a healthy mix of hope and heartbreak, makes a difference.
So here I am. Feeling Older. Younger. Wiser. Simpler. all at the same time.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

