Skip to content

95 Days: twisted bark

7 July 2009

iMix:
All MJ all the time.

I’ve never been a morning person, but I think I might give it a try.
Running with the sunrise is a wonderful thing. I enjoy early morning runs, because it feels special to be out and doing something good when most everyone is still sleeping. And with those few other folks on the road, on their way to work or on the way home, there’s a certain solidarity. We know what’s up.
Because we are. Up.

Training week is off to a great start…after two days. Two one-hour days, with just the tiniest walking breaks thrown in. I can already tell that cardiovascular exercise is going to be the best cure for a broken heart. (And wine. lots and lots of wine.)

Early morning slowness also gives me a chance to notice things I haven’t before. There’s a big tree on the corner of my street that’s really lovely. And damaged. It’s one of those twisty-barked trees. I don’t know what causes this natural fluke, but it’s pretty. Like the tree was just twisted like play dough. But trees aren’t play dough, they’re hard—where wood comes from, after all—so this kind of growth must not be easy. If the tree could talk (in a woodsy, knowing, Lord Of The Rings type voice) it would probably have said “ouch” a lot, and moaned over the pain of the twisty, atypical growth it had to go through. Maybe Mr. Tree even wished he could’ve had the seemingly easier growth pattern of the smaller, prettier, simpler trees around him.

But he twisted instead. And now he’s the most interesting tree on the block.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 7 July 2009 6:16 pm

    I like the new bright-color-ness!

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks that twisty trees hurt more than pretty smooth trees. I’m excited to be neighbors with you!

    Kings of Leon soothe my broken heart.

Leave a Reply

