Skip to content

postcard show

4 September 2009

Last weekend was one of the most delightful times of year in Springfield, Mo.:
The Postcard Show and Paper Americana Sale

I’ve gone to this for a few years now, and have enticed my family (mom, dad, then even Daniel) and now some friends into the fun. People like me (schmaltzy, collector-y, story hounds) don’t need any convincing that this is the Happiest Place On Earth. Others aren’t so psyched right away, but I promise it really is cool.

Imagine a roomful of dealers, each with boxes and boxes full of cards, most 50-100 years old, from every state, country, holiday, oddity you can imagine. Some have delightful handwritten messages or unique postmarks. Some have shocking racist or political propaganda. Many are crazy-expensive. (turns out Halloween cards are especially rare, and are priced $25 and up. For one card.)

I love it. Love it. Love. It.
I’ve managed to collect some great antique cards from India, Italy, Spain, and various US cities I’ve traveled to.

coming to you in 36 days

coming to you in 36 days

This year I spent a lot of time scouring boxes of international postcards, looking for London and Paris to commemorate LP10 (next summer’s vacay extravaganza). I found some really nice ones, and a few had the most delightful messages. Though they were written by complete strangers decades ago, they mirror my exact sentiments on European travel.

February 24, 1954
Florence
Really you must promise to come to Europe. Everything just like a picture book. We are just one big exclamation. Seems every day is better.

date unknown
Florence
Really this is a wonderful world and I wish I had the lire for goods I’d like to bring home. Tomorrow–Rome! If only the women were more friendly-like!

(ha. well, mirrored my sentiments aside from the women, of course. I found the fellas in Rome to be as friendly as I’d have liked them to be…)

*ah travel*
good food. gelato.
spending without guilt.
not worrying about money…realizing what it’s really for.
good friends. good conversation. meaningful questions and honest answers. silliness.
romance.
new experiences.
embracing art and life.
seizing the day.
tradition, history.
a different routine. time even changes. days seem so full.

In one of the guide books I read before Italy, Rick Steves gave the advice that to enjoy travel you must be “militantly optimistic.” Not such a bad way to live your life.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. c-love permalink
    5 September 2009 11:00 am

    so i have an idea about helping fund your marathon with a grant. not the typical money type grant, but the guy on the bill. it’s kinda like david sedaris will be giving you $50. don’t pay me for your ticket. instead, just donate that money to the race fund. deal? weird? kinda. happy saturday, s-love!

  2. jennie permalink
    10 September 2009 7:38 am

    you brought back some fabulous memories for me jenskie!! miss you!

Leave a Reply

