Skip to content

“I could write while in motion I’d have a memoir by now”

23 September 2009

Life, folks! It just needs to slow down sometimes.
Remember that scene from Our Town, where Emily is visiting her family from the afterlife, and she is so frustrated that everything’s moving so fast, saying “can’t we just look at one another?”

Do any human beings ever realize life while they live it?—every, every minute?

I have that feeling a lot while I’m still here.
Can’t I just stop and absorb this?
I had a special “driveway moment” with a particular NPR story two days ago. There’s something simply wonderful about sitting in my car, in the rain, and listening to a good story at the end of the day. Check it out:

Andrei Codrescu: Growing Up The iPod Way
You’ve got to take the time to listen to this, though you can read a transcript online as well. Codrescu has a delicious accent that compliments his storytelling. He talks about how our music tells the story of our lives.

I’ve found I learn a lot about someone by experiencing her music taste, or borrowing his iPod. In fact, I love running with a mix of someone else’s music that I’ve never heard before. It is a bit like experiencing life from within their mind, from their history, as Codrescu argues in the piece.

Growing up, he asserts, is like moving from being a memoirist to a novelist.
Finding value in learning the stories of those you love, learning to listen with their ears.
bellissimo.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 23 September 2009 4:34 pm

    I have a new running mix for you. Hopefully it will energize you and your routine right before your big one!

  2. Timothy permalink
    1 October 2009 3:10 pm

    I’m in a operatic adaptation of Our Town this semester at UNL. I think you’d like it.

Leave a Reply

